« First sprint a biggie | Main | BBC Sport | Stage 18 photo gallery »

July 25, 2003

Stage 18: Lastras wins stage

The sprinters are being closed out in the last road stages of this year's Tour. Today, a 16-man breakaway splintered in the race's last kilometers, and iBanesto's Pablo Lastras nipped Carlos Da Cruz of FDJeux.com and Telekom's Daniele Nardello.

Lastras finished in 4 hours, 3 minutes over the 203.5 km (126 miles) course, for the 2nd-fastest stage in Tour history.

The peloton was more than 20 minutes behind. Robbie McEwen powered to the line ahead of Erik Zabel and Baden Cooke, and coupled with McEwen's win of the first intermediate sprint of the day, McEwen moves into the green jersey with 178 pts to Cooke's 176 and Zabel's 165.

1) Pablo Lastras (iBanesto.com) 4:03:18 2) Carlos Da Cruz (FDJeux.com) same time 3) Daniele Nardello (Telekom) s.t. 4) David Canada (QuickStep-Davitamon) @ :04 5) Massimiliano Lelli (Cofidis) @ :19 6) Andy Flickinger (AG2r) @ :19 7) Thomas Voeckler (Brioches la Boulangere) @ :19 8) Paolo Fornacieri (Saeco) @ :19 9) Fabrizio Guidi (Team Bianchi) @ :35 10) Vladimir Miholjevic (Alessio) @ :35

Posted by Frank Steele on July 25, 2003 in Stage results | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Stage 18: Lastras wins stage:


Post a comment