« Armstrong favorite, but odds lengthen | Main | Tyler Hamilton diary updated »

June 28, 2004

Illes Balears, Alessio-Bianchi Tour squads named

cyclingnews.com | Alessio-Bianchi names Tour team, Illes Balears-Banesto for the Tour

Cyclingnews reports that final Tour squads have been named for Illes Balears-Banesto and Alessio-Bianchi.

Illes Balears-Banesto is coming off a very successful weekend, during which Francisco Mancebo won the Spanish championship on the road and José Ivan Gutierrez won the TT championship.

Their full squad:

• Francisco Mancebo
• Jose Ivan Gutierrez
• Denis Menchov
• Vladimir Karpets
• Daniel Becke
• Aitor Osa
• Chente Garcia
• Mikel Pradera
• Xabier Zandio

Alessio-Bianchi brings the peloton's biggest rider, Magnus Backstedt, who won this year's Paris-Roubaix. Their required Australian is Scott Sunderland, who Cyclingnews.com notes will be keeping a Tour diary on the site.

The full squad:

• Pietro Caucchioli
• Magnus Backstedt
• Fabio Baldato
• Andrea Noe
• Scott Sunderland
• Alessandro Bertolini
• Martin Hvastija
• Marcus Ljungqvist
• Claus Møller

Certainly, the squad most likely to have their names misspelled.

Posted by Frank Steele on June 28, 2004 | Permalink


Post a comment