« Millar detained in doping probe | Main | O'Grady on his Tour »

June 24, 2004

Phonak Tour squad announced

Phonak | Phonak Cycling team is set for the Tour de France

Tyler Hamilton's squad for the Tour de France has been named. The Swiss team will have just one Swiss rider, Martin Elmiger, as they've brought in a talented group, mostly Spanish, to support Hamilton's run at a Tour title.

The full squad:

• Tyler Hamilton (stage win and 4th overall, 2003)
• Oscar Sevilla (white jersey, 2001)
• Santi Perez
• José Gutierrez
• Oscar Pereiro
• Santos Gonzalez
• Bert Grabsch
• Nicolas Jalabert
• Martin Elmiger

Their reserve rider is Cyril Dessel.

Grabsch and Elmiger will be riding in their first Tour.

Out with an injury is Oscar Camenzind, and not on the team will be their old master, Alex Zülle, or Niki Aebersold, who took the 6th stage of the Tour de Suisse and the mountains jersey.

Seen at cyclingnews.com.

Posted by Frank Steele on June 24, 2004 in Oscar Pereiro, Top Stories, Tour news, Tyler Freaking Hamilton | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Phonak Tour squad announced:


Post a comment