« Phonak announces Tour squad | Main | Graham Watson: Armstrong "had a hand" in Stage 5 break »

June 10, 2005

Merckx takes Stage 5, Landaluze the lead at Dauphiné

Eurosport Cycling | Dauphine Libere

Axel Merckx spent most of the day alone, riding away from an early break that gave him the day and Euskaltel's Inigo Landaluze the overall race lead at the Dauphiné Libéré.

The break made the most of a lazy pace by the main field, and most of its members finished 7 minutes plus on the peloton. Merckx moves into second overall.

It's Merckx's first win since 2003; he took the bronze in the road race at the 2005 Athens Olympics.

It kind of looks like Armstrong might have taken the presence of Noval up the road as a chance to make Gerolsteiner defend Leipheimer's jersey, and, for whatever reason, the G-men declined. We'll see when the stage photos go up.

Top 10:
1) Axel Merckx, Davitamon-Lotto, 5:15:01
2) Inigo Landaluze, Euskaltel-Euskadi, at 2:15
3) Benjamin Noval, Discovery Channel, at 5:45
4) Eddy Mazzoleni, Lampre-Caffita, same time
5) Paolo Bossoni, Fassa Bortolo, at 6:15
6) Sylvain Chavanel, Cofidis, same time
7) Rafael Casero, Saunier Duval-Prodir, same time
8) Mario Aerts, Davitamon-Lotto, at 6:17
9) Francis Mourey, Française Des Jeux, at 6:18
10) Thor Hushovd, Credit Agricole, at 7:32

The peloton came in at 9:36, with all the previous GC leaders included.

The new top 6 on GC:
1) Inigo Landaluze, Euskaltel-Euskadi, 20:41:15
2) Axel Merckx, Davitamon-Lotto, at 2:32
3) Levi Leipheimer, Gerolsteiner, at 2:51
4) Lance Armstrong, Discovery Channel, at 3:12
5) Alexandre Vinokourov, T-Mobile, at 3:17
6) Floyd Landis, Phonak, at 3:38

Levi Leipheimer fell late in the stage, but was only slightly injured.


cyclingnews.com | Stage results

Posted by Frank Steele on June 10, 2005 in Alexandre Vinokourov, Dauphiné Libéré, Dauphiné Libéré 2005, Floyd Landis, Lance Armstrong, Levi Leipheimer, Top Stories | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Merckx takes Stage 5, Landaluze the lead at Dauphiné:


Post a comment