« Piil out, Roberts in on CSC Tour squad | Main | Tour previews coming hot and heavy »

June 27, 2005

New national champions at the Tour

Yesterday was the day for national championships across Europe. One side effect of those races is that they provide distinctive jerseys for riders in the Tour de France; here's a rundown of who's stocking new jerseys this week:

National road race champs in the Tour:

Alexandre Vinokourov, T-Mobile: Kazakhstan
Pierrick Fedrigo, Bouyges Telecom: France
Leon Van Bon, Davitamon-Lotto: The Netherlands
Gerrit Glomser, Lampre-Caffita: Austria
Juan Manuel Garate, Saunier Duval-Prodir: Spain

Robbie McEwen won the Australian national championships back in January.

It may be more surprising what jerseys aren't going to be there: Belgium (Serge Baguet), Italy (Enrico Gasparotto), Germany (18-year-old Gerald Ciolek, breaking T-Mobile's 12-year stream of German champions), Russia (Sergei Ivanov), and Norway (Morten Christiansen).

On the Time Trial side:

Fabian Cancellara, Fassa Bortolo: Switzerland
Michael Rich, Gerolsteiner: Germany
Sylvain Chavanel, Cofidis: France
Thor Hushovd, Credit Agricole: Norway

I'm probably overlooking a couple (Luxembourg?) -- please post additional national champs.


Eurosport | National Championships | Time Trial Results

procycling.com | National champs: German teenager wins title

Posted by Frank Steele on June 27, 2005 in Alexandre Vinokourov, Fabian Cancellara, Thor Hushovd | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference New national champions at the Tour:


Post a comment