« ASO: We'll ban riders investigated or implicated | Main | Millar dropped from Tour »

June 25, 2004

T-Mobile announces Tour squad

T-Mobile | 9 out of 25: Our riders for the Tour

T-Mobile announced the squad that will try to deliver a 2nd Tour de France win to Jan Ullrich. As Cadel Evans had previously announced, he's not on the squad, with Sergei Ivanov taking the spot some had set aside for Evans.

The whole squad (* denotes former Tour stage winner, ! denotes former Tour winner):

• Jan Ullrich (! *)
• Santiago Botero (*)
• Giuseppe Guerini (*)
• Rolf Aldag
• Sergei Ivanov (*)
• Matthias Kessler
• Andreas Klöden
• Daniele Nardello (*)
• Erik Zabel (*)

Given the news lately, it's worth noting that Ivanov was dropped from the 2000 Tour for a too-high hematocrit.

In depth:

Eurosport | T-Mobile announces team

Posted by Frank Steele on June 25, 2004 in Erik Zabel, Jan Ullrich, Top Stories, Tour news | Permalink