« Stage 18 underway | Main | Mercado gets the stage win »

July 23, 2004

Mercado takes Stage 18

Juan Miguel Mercado of Quick Step launched from a 6-man breakaway with a few kilometers to go, then sprinted by Vincente Garcia-Acosta for the stage win. Garcia-Acosta was second, while Cofidis rider Dmitry Fofonov led in 4 chasers.

Sandy Casar made an attack late in the stage to try to move up in the white jersey, but Illes Balear-Banesto shut it down in support of Vladimir Karpets.

An incredible field sprint today goes to Credit Agricole's Thor Hushovd, then green jersey Robbie McEwen.

Stage results:

1) Juan Miguel Mercado (Quick Step)
2) Vincente Garcia-Acosta (Illes Balears-Banesto)
3) Dmitri Fofonov (Cofidis) at :11
4) Sebastian Joly (Credit Agricole) same time
5) Marc Lotz (Rabobank) s.t.
6) Juan Antonio Flecha (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
7) Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) at 11:29
8) Robbie McEwen (Lotto-Domo) same time
9) Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
10) Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) s.t.

McEwen hasn't quite locked up the maillot vert, but only Hushovd moved any closer.

1) McEwen 238
2) Hushovd 227
3) Erik Zabel (T-Mobile) 221
4) O'Grady 215
5) Hondo 201

The only points still available are on Sunday at 2 intermediate sprints and the finish line.

Complete results are available over at RoadCycling.com.

Posted by Frank Steele on July 23, 2004 in Robbie McEwen, Stage results, Stuart O'Grady, Thomas Voeckler, Thor Hushovd, Top Stories | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Mercado takes Stage 18: