« Stage 8 underway | Main | A prescription for what? »

July 11, 2004

Thor Hushovd takes Stage 8

Norway's Thor Hushovd of Credit Agricole took Stage 8 of the 2004 Tour de France with a beautifully timed sprint.

1) Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole)
2) Kim Kirchen (Fassa Bortolo)
3) Erik Zabel (T-Mobile)
4) Robbie McEwen (Lotto-Domo)
5) Andreas Kloden (T-Mobile)
6) Tom Boonen (Quick Step)
7) Laurent Brochard (AG2R)
8) Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis)
9) Oscar Pereiro (Phonak)
10) Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner)

No effect on GC, so Thomas Voeckler holds the yellow jersey at least through the rest day.

Robbie McEwen moves back into the green jersey.

McEwen hooked up with Paolo Bettini, who wanted to take a shot at the stage win with 600 meters to ride. Bettini realized that would set up a sprint he couldn't win, and deny his teammate Tom Boonen a place in the field sprint, so he quickly dropped back into the field. But he wasn't happy about it, and a few Italian hand gestures ensued.

Here's the Top 5 in the green jersey competition, which looks likely to provide most of the race's excitement through the next week or so:

1) Robbie McEwen 158 pts
2) Stuart O'Grady 149 pts
3) Erik Zabel 148 pts
4) Thor Hushovd 147 pts
5) Danilo Hondo 139 pts

Posted by Frank Steele on July 11, 2004 in Robbie McEwen, Stuart O'Grady, Thomas Voeckler, Thor Hushovd, Top Stories | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Thor Hushovd takes Stage 8:


i noticed kim kirchen's jersey at the end of stage 8. it's different from the normal fassa jerseys. the only thing i could guess was it had something to do with the most aggressive rider? could anyone help me out here? thanks.

Posted by: jessica at Jul 11, 2004 11:56:20 AM

Sure. In the Tour, riders are required to wear (if they've earned it, of course) their national champion's jersey.

Kirchen is Luxembourg's national champion, and Hushovd is Norway's, so they were both wearing jerseys different from their teammates.

Other national champion's jerseys I remember seeing so far in this Tour:

Francisco Mancebo of Spain
Thomas Voeckler of France
Andreas Kloden of Germany
Matthew Wilson of Australia

The US national champion is Freddy Rodriguez of Acqua e Sapone, an Italian team that isn't in the Tour.

Posted by: Frank at Jul 11, 2004 12:10:33 PM

The "Champion of Whereveria" concept is one of the most charming aspects of the sport, I think. I've tried in vain to find a site that depicts the various national championship jerseys (along with team jerseys past and present--I guess I'm looking for a cycling "heraldry" site).

I almost must admit to a some confusion about who wears what jersey when, since, as in the Worlds, many countries produce most national champions and time trial national champions. Do the TT guys just wear their jerseys during time trials? And, as with the World Champions, is there a protocol for showing that you are a past national champion (stripes at the sleeve or collar, for example)?

Posted by: Christopher at Jul 11, 2004 10:23:43 PM