« Freire takes cagey win at Tour de Suisse | Main | iShares will replace Phonak as primary sponsor »

June 16, 2006

Discovery Channel names Tour team

Discovery Channel named its Tour squad today. With Lance Armstrong out of the picture, Discovery has 4 different riders who could finish highly: George Hincapie, Yaroslav Popovych, Paolo Savoldelli, and Jose Azevedo.

Their metamorphosis is going to be one of the big storylines of the 2006 Tour.

    Discovery Channel 2006 Tour squad:
  • George Hincapie
  • Yaroslav Popovych
  • Paolo Savoldelli
  • Jose Azevedo
  • Viatcheslav Ekimov
  • Egoi Martinez
  • José-Luis Rubiera
  • Benjamin Noval
  • Pavel Padrnos
  • Vladimir Gusev
  • Michael Barry

There's a special announcement webisode available on the Team Discovery Channel webpage; I can't link it directly since the site is all-Flash. ThePaceline.com (free registration required) has the full press release.

Posted by Frank Steele on June 16, 2006 in George Hincapie, Paolo Savoldelli, Viatcheslav Ekimov, Yaroslav Popovych | Permalink