« Full provisional rider list posted | Main | Cancellara disappointed to miss Tour »

June 19, 2006

QuickStep welcomes Rujano, rests Bettini

Monday's EuroFile | Quick Step names Tour nine

QuickStep is looking to put reigning world champion Tom Boonen in green at Tour's end.

They've got 2006 Milan-San Remo winner Filippo Pozzato, 2006 Giro Stage 19 winner Juan Mañuel Garate, and QuickStep's latest addition, José Rujano.

Venezuela's Rujano owned the mountains at last year's Giro, but dropped out of this year's Giro early, just before his bizarre contract expired with Selle Italia, and his contract with QuickStep started. Rujano has since apologized for his season thus far, and for withdrawing from the Giro when he did (see Rujano says thanks and goodbye to Selle Italia, from CyclingNews.com).

Paolo Bettini will not race the Tour, likely looking toward September's World Championship in Salzburg.

    QuickStep-Innergetic 2006 Tour de France squad:
  • Tom Boonen
  • José Rujano
  • Cedric Vasseur
  • Wilfried Cretskens
  • Steven De Jongh
  • Juan Manuel Garate
  • Filippo Pozzato
  • Bram Tankink
  • Mateo Tosatto

Posted by Frank Steele on June 19, 2006 in Filippo Pozzato, Paolo Bettini, Tom Boonen, Tour de France 2006 | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference QuickStep welcomes Rujano, rests Bettini: