« Stage 8: Chicken Run 3: The Dane Reigns | Main | T-Mobile troubles continue: Sinkewitz hits fan after stage »

July 15, 2007

McEwen outside the time limit on Stage 8

Australian Broadcasting Corporation | McEwen third Aussie out of Tour

Three-time green jersey winner Robbie McEwen failed to make the time limit on today's Stage 8, and was eliminated from the Tour.

McEwen, who won Stage 1 after being injured in a crash, finished 1:09:22 behind Michael Rasmussen on the stage. The time limit was a little over 40 minutes. Also eliminated were Danilo Napolitano of Lampre (@1:16:33) and Cedric Herve of Agritubel (@49:57).

McEwen was the third Aussie out of the Tour on Sunday, joining Michael Rogers and Stuart O'Grady.

Eight riders in all exited the race on Sunday:

• Mark Cavendish, T-Mobile, Great Britain (withdrew)
• Romain Feilleu, Agritubel, France (withdrew)
• Cédric Hervé, Agritubel, France (over time limit)
• McEwen (over time limit)
• Danilo Napolitano, Lampre, Italy (over time limit)
• Stuart O'Grady, CSC, Australia (withdrew)
• Ivan Parra, Cofidis, Colombia (withdrew)
• Michael Rogers, T-Mobile, Australia (withdrew)

Posted by Frank Steele on July 15, 2007 in 2007 Stage 8, Mark Cavendish, Michael Rogers, Robbie McEwen, Stuart O'Grady, Top Stories | Permalink


Have you found the cutoff charts for 2007 online anywhere? I can't seem to find them.

Posted by: Nancy Toby at Jul 15, 2007 5:42:25 PM

Guess it's easier to spot Mcewan in the peloton, when he's off the back!

Posted by: DL Byron at Jul 16, 2007 10:56:59 AM


Three more exciting riders out of the tour, and all of them from the land of OZ!! My fave sprinter is Robbie McEwen, but Rogers was lighting up the front, and threatening the status quo - which could do with being threatened! - so he'll be missed by any true fan.

C'est La Vie

Posted by: Paul Cl at Jul 16, 2007 12:03:01 PM